First Drafts Are Important

I’m so excited to be here. I visit this blog regularly and always find something new, instructive or inspirational to help me, my writing, and my walk… So the privilege to contribute is just that, a privilege.

Dear Mr. Knightley is out in the world. Lizzy & Jane is in copy edits. And I am beginning my next story – another first draft.

Since this – and moving my family across the country – is consuming my days, I thought I would share some things I’ve learned about first drafts. I regard the first draft (said in deep ominous tones) as the most challenging part of manuscript building. A blank computer screen is a daunting opponent and the idea of filling that screen with 90,000 plus words that actually make sense, and better yet make a compelling a story, is terrifying… but it doesn’t need to be. Here are a few things I am holding tight for the next several weeks:

Click here to read the rest of this informative article.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

