Staging Scenes

In addition to my self-confessed chronic chronology challenges, which I’ve written about before, I find that as I write my first draft, I need to track whether I have the right people in the right place at the right time. Here are three quick questions I’ve learned to keep in mind during this process.

  1. What do the characters need to see? Obviously, if I don’t have a good answer to that question, ix-nay on the scene entirely. Assuming I do have a good answer, when I finish writing the scene I read through to make sure the right characters are present or in some other manner acquire information or insight they need in order to play their next parts in the unfolding story. Learn more.

Nancy

Leave a Reply

